Twitter Facebook

Jump to content



Photo

Safestrap Question


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 MicaRyanSulc

 
MicaRyanSulc

    n00b

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
 

Posted 05 March 2012 - 08:06 AM

So basically if I flash a rom with safe mode enabled, then I have two roms on my phone right?

#2 MicaRyanSulc

 
MicaRyanSulc

    n00b

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
 

Posted 05 March 2012 - 08:11 AM


Then I can toggle back to my stock rom whenever I want right?

#3 money mike

 
money mike

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 254 posts
 

Posted 05 March 2012 - 08:19 AM

Yes. I just did it this morning. Takes about 5 or so minutes.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk

#4 arcanexvi

 
arcanexvi

    Property of Roo

  • Superuser
  • 840 posts
  • LocationSchaumburg, IL
 

Posted 05 March 2012 - 09:27 AM

So basically if I flash a rom with safe mode enabled, then I have two roms on my phone right?

Then I can toggle back to my stock rom whenever I want right?

Most people keep stock and a custom ROM as their 2

Posted Image


Become a supporting member and help, get a DEV a phone, by going HERE

Please take the time to read our forum rules and guidelines.


#5 MicaRyanSulc

 
MicaRyanSulc

    n00b

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
 

Posted 05 March 2012 - 01:05 PM

Cool, thanks yal, just making sure

#6 MicaRyanSulc

 
MicaRyanSulc

    n00b

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
 

Posted 05 March 2012 - 04:34 PM

So why do all the tutorials on flashing custom roms using safestrap, say its very important to do a backup?

#7 quadjacks

 
quadjacks

    THE 4 of us!

  • Dedicated Supporter
  • PipPipPip
  • 344 posts
  • Twitter:@quadjacks
  • LocationFort Drum, NY
  • Current Device(s):Maxx HD
 

Posted 05 March 2012 - 04:40 PM

So why do all the tutorials on flashing custom roms using safestrap, say its very important to do a backup?

In case of disaster!
Any FAA meetings in my area? Flash Addicts Anonymous~God is Luv~

#8 OMGzBananas

 
OMGzBananas

    Monkeys Eat me

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
 

Posted 06 March 2012 - 12:42 AM

So let's say I have stock on the unsafe side, a custom rom on the safe side. I boot into safestrap recovery and do a backup. Does that backup just the side I'm on, or all the internal memory?

Also, if I have clockworkmod installed (which as of recently supports manually installed recovery options on razr) and use it to reboot and make my backup, is that any different? (obviously it might be packaged differently since it's a different program doing the backing up)

#9 MicaRyanSulc

 
MicaRyanSulc

    n00b

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
 

Posted 06 March 2012 - 01:39 PM

If i needed to return my phone for warranty reasons or whatever, and I had a custom rom on safe side and completely stock rooted on nonsafe side, could I just wipe data/cache/dalvik/ format system on safe side then toggle back to nonsafe mode, uninstall safestrap and unroot? And also, would I have to fastboot back to .7
48 to unroot? Thanks alot for all the help yal

#10 JungleKing76

 
JungleKing76

    Droid Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 425 posts
 

Posted 06 March 2012 - 03:08 PM

If i needed to return my phone for warranty reasons or whatever, and I had a custom rom on safe side and completely stock rooted on nonsafe side, could I just wipe data/cache/dalvik/ format system on safe side then toggle back to nonsafe mode, uninstall safestrap and unroot? And also, would I have to fastboot back to .7
48 to unroot? Thanks alot for all the help yal


Your best option is to fastboot restore and wipe data/ factory reset. This will wipe all trace of root.

If you only do what you asked above as far as wiping data, cache, format system on non safe, it does not put your phone back to stock. When safe strap is used for a second system and you first system, it is basically erasing all files in the preinstall folder on your phone because that is where the non safe Rom is installed.

If you turn the phone in unrooted and cleared without a restore (or at least replacing the necessary files) they can easily see that your preinstall folder had been cleared and than can only be done with root so.... warranty voided.



Sent from my DROID RAZR using Xparent Purple Tapatalk




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users