Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Rooting my phone


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 woodly1069

woodly1069

    n00b

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Current Device(s):huawei u8730

Posted 11 June 2013 - 11:15 AM

Noob here, please help...trying to figure out how to root my phone. I really don't know where to start, even though I was trying to follow the steps described in this forum. I have copied the files to my PC but then I am lost. Thanks for any help!

 



#2 shane1

shane1

    Droid Elite

  • Moderator
  • 1,421 posts
  • Twitter:1shane15
  • Google+:shanebarone1@gmail.com (gtalk/hangouts)
  • Locationny
  • Current Device(s):Moto X Dev Edition , N7

Posted 11 June 2013 - 12:40 PM

the directions are pretty self explanatory . what exactly are you confused about?


Posted Image
sig made by

Rinkle McBally

#3 woodly1069

woodly1069

    n00b

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Current Device(s):huawei u8730

Posted 11 June 2013 - 02:56 PM

Well I can copy the files to my PC then do I need to copy them to my phone? If I do I can open them. Basically, just a dumb dumb and need a little hand holding.



#4 shane1

shane1

    Droid Elite

  • Moderator
  • 1,421 posts
  • Twitter:1shane15
  • Google+:shanebarone1@gmail.com (gtalk/hangouts)
  • Locationny
  • Current Device(s):Moto X Dev Edition , N7

Posted 11 June 2013 - 03:02 PM

Unzip them on your computer, install the proper drivers, then connect your phone to your computer and set it up like the instructions say and theN click on root.bat file . the files are used from your computer. Good luck
Posted Image
sig made by

Rinkle McBally

#5 woodly1069

woodly1069

    n00b

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Current Device(s):huawei u8730

Posted 12 June 2013 - 06:10 AM

that's what I have been trying to do but it evidently opens a port then sits there for ever, doesn't turn the phone off, nothing. I must have waited an hour. Thoughts?


  • legion likes this

#6 shane1

shane1

    Droid Elite

  • Moderator
  • 1,421 posts
  • Twitter:1shane15
  • Google+:shanebarone1@gmail.com (gtalk/hangouts)
  • Locationny
  • Current Device(s):Moto X Dev Edition , N7

Posted 12 June 2013 - 06:14 AM

The only thing I can think of is its not seeing your phone from the sounds of it. Did you try a Google search for mor up to date drivers? 


Posted Image
sig made by

Rinkle McBally

#7 shane1

shane1

    Droid Elite

  • Moderator
  • 1,421 posts
  • Twitter:1shane15
  • Google+:shanebarone1@gmail.com (gtalk/hangouts)
  • Locationny
  • Current Device(s):Moto X Dev Edition , N7

Posted 12 June 2013 - 06:20 AM

Try searching for koush's universal adb drivers


Posted Image
sig made by

Rinkle McBally

#8 Memnoch73

Memnoch73

    ~The Devil~

  • Smod
  • 4,619 posts
  • Google+:memnoch73@gmail.com
  • LocationRochester, NY
  • Current Device(s):Droid DNA

Posted 12 June 2013 - 06:25 AM

Make sure you are using the USB cord that came with your phone. Make sure USB debugging is checked. Make sure your sd card is NOT mounted. Put it in a different usb mode. Try a different USB port. 

 

These are all Razr related fixes which hopefully work for your phone


  • shane1 likes this

Bluesig3_zpsfd248ca4.png

If my post helped you, please feel free to "LIKE" that sh!t!! Thanks


#9 woodly1069

woodly1069

    n00b

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Current Device(s):huawei u8730

Posted 12 June 2013 - 08:51 AM

I am using the USB that came with the phone and the PC sees it every time I plug it in or unplug it. Strange thing is that after I set debugging and try to root it just sits there and says <waiting for device> with the cursor blinking away below...

I think I have the drivers loaded on C:\Program files and I think I actually added them to the SD card in the phone too...

So ??? wonder what I am doing wrong? You guys were able to do it so I don't get it? 



#10 woodly1069

woodly1069

    n00b

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Current Device(s):huawei u8730

Posted 12 June 2013 - 08:52 AM

Try searching for koush's universal adb drivers

What does this do? Never heard of it before. Of course all this is new to me



#11 shane1

shane1

    Droid Elite

  • Moderator
  • 1,421 posts
  • Twitter:1shane15
  • Google+:shanebarone1@gmail.com (gtalk/hangouts)
  • Locationny
  • Current Device(s):Moto X Dev Edition , N7

Posted 12 June 2013 - 08:56 AM

well i havent done it . i dont have this phone. im just throwing ideas trying to help. and thats adb drivers that work on almost every phone


Posted Image
sig made by

Rinkle McBally

#12 woodly1069

woodly1069

    n00b

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Current Device(s):huawei u8730

Posted 12 June 2013 - 10:54 AM

thanks


  • shane1 likes this

#13 woodly1069

woodly1069

    n00b

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Current Device(s):huawei u8730

Posted 12 June 2013 - 10:56 AM

Hey Shane1 looking at the bold red type on the top of the page where it explains how to do this is says not to do it with the latest update, do you know what this means? Is this in reference to my phone? How would a person know what is the latest update? Thanks for any input



#14 shane1

shane1

    Droid Elite

  • Moderator
  • 1,421 posts
  • Twitter:1shane15
  • Google+:shanebarone1@gmail.com (gtalk/hangouts)
  • Locationny
  • Current Device(s):Moto X Dev Edition , N7

Posted 12 June 2013 - 11:12 AM

that is your firmware version on your phone. and i think on pg 12 someone had the same issue and matt said it was his phone was updated and cant be rooted. sry


Posted Image
sig made by

Rinkle McBally

#15 woodly1069

woodly1069

    n00b

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Current Device(s):huawei u8730

Posted 13 June 2013 - 08:47 AM

I don't see a firmware version in my phone but I do have the Android version 2.3.6 Base board version and kernel version showing. Oh and build number too will that tell me if I can do it?



#16 shane1

shane1

    Droid Elite

  • Moderator
  • 1,421 posts
  • Twitter:1shane15
  • Google+:shanebarone1@gmail.com (gtalk/hangouts)
  • Locationny
  • Current Device(s):Moto X Dev Edition , N7

Posted 13 June 2013 - 08:10 PM

either the base or build can tell you if your updated but you would have to google it or maybe check huawei' site


Posted Image
sig made by

Rinkle McBally




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users