26 replies to this topic

#1 prstorero

prstorero

SuperThemerDevGuy

• Developer
  • 838 posts

Posted 01 June 2013 - 01:19 PM

1. Increase the home screen launching speed
  • This is a very simple thing i saw on Youtube and i wanted to share it here since most people probably won't look for that video The problem is S voice tries to figure out if it needs to launch when you press your home key (this gives a slight delay of about 1 second to get to the home screen). You can disable this by opening S voice, hit the menu key, settings, disable "open via home key". Of course this disables the function, but if you use a different assistant, such as Google Now, then this is something that can easily be done This is the only tip for now. I may add things on to this as i see fit or if people ask. I'm also brand new to Samsung to keep that in mind

2. Increase battery life (and maybe performance) (requires root) 

• For this you need an app called "Greenify" from the play store (green leaf icon). The app is free and what it does is it puts what ever apps you choose into a state of hibernation when they are not open. This can be useful for apps that love to keep themselves running (such as Facebook and Google Maps). This can also help reduce some data usage.

3. Increase battery life #2 (possibly a lot)

• Install as many blacked out apps as you can, such as: Talk (hangouts), play store, gmail, etc. Because these phones use a super amoled display, it takes a big chunk of battery to display white pixels while black ones take 0 battery. Do this if you use these apps a lot, and you can definitely see an increase in your battery life

4. Increase battery life #3