20 replies to this topic

#1 lwreigel

lwreigel

n00b

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 13 July 2013 - 03:41 PM

I have tried to root my razr m but have not been successful. I am new to rooting and may not understand everything, but I have followed the directions exactly. Any advice or pointers on where I've gone wrong? Maybe someone can tell me another way to try.... Thanks!

#2 RikRong

RikRong

Cap'n Slow

• Superuser
  • 2,117 posts
  • LocationNoDak
  • Current Device(s):Pixel 7

Posted 13 July 2013 - 09:37 PM

We need a couple of things here. What did you use to try to root?  What update are you on?  Is your bootloader unlocked? 

R. Long: Pixel 5

#3 lwreigel

lwreigel

n00b

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 13 July 2013 - 10:12 PM

I used motofail2go and also motochopper. Not sure what you mean by update...my phone is jellybean 4.1.2. Is that what you mean? And I don't know about bootloader. I'm very new to this so I don't know everything.

#4 RikRong

RikRong

Cap'n Slow

• Superuser
  • 2,117 posts
  • LocationNoDak

Posted 13 July 2013 - 10:42 PM

Have you taken the latest update that was sent by Verizon? 

#5 jl90

jl90

\m/

• Developer
  • 1,642 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Az.
  • Current Device(s):Nexus 6 64GB, RAZR HD Maxx

Posted 14 July 2013 - 02:42 AM

Motochopper works. I used it on my friends m to root. You have to make sure your device drivers are installed and up to date and that your using the charging/data cable that came with the phone! That is very important. :)

#6 npalomo

npalomo

n00b

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • LocationSacramento
  • Current Device(s):Droid RAZR M, Motoactv, Sony Tablet S

Posted 15 July 2013 - 10:06 AM

I'm having the same problem after taking the latest OTA update from Verizon on my Razr M. Neither motochopper nor motofail2go work now. :-/ My bootloader is locked and I'm running Jelly Bean 4.1.2.

#7 RikRong

RikRong

Cap'n Slow

• Superuser
  • 2,117 posts
  • LocationNoDak