#1 whitemare0

whitemare0

n00b

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Current Device(s):Droid Razr Maxx HD

Posted 29 December 2012 - 09:20 AM

I just got my razr maxx HD and im new to the rooting process. my friend rooted his and he had a lot of problems with different ROMs so im being cautious

first question, i noticed a lot of stuff regarding the razr and razr hd or the razr maxx but nothing for the razr maxx hd. which one should i be looking at?

next where can i find my ics build? i see 4.0.4 and build 7.7.1Q is there any that support 7.7.1Q? ive only seen 6.14

the primary reason i am trying to root is because i am trying to reverse tether off my computers internet because of my location. is there a better solution out there?

im not that big on the whole crazy custom stuff, which custom ROM would be best to keep it close to the original motorola build or is there one that is simple that you suggest?

thank you

#2 johnthehillbilly

johnthehillbilly

Gear jammin' S-Mod

• Smod
  • 6,470 posts
  • Twitter:@johnhillbilly
  • Google+:http://goo.gl/ColUJ .. johnthehillbilly@gmail.com
  • LocationSomewhere between here, and there...
  • Current Device(s):unlocked RAZR HD (xt926)... RAZR (xt912)

Posted 29 December 2012 - 09:37 AM

Rooting by itself should give you no issues at all.... its what you do or try to do once rooted..... :) anyway... the RAZR HD and the RAZR MAXX HD are in fact the same phone, the MAXX provides better battery life :) .... if I am not mistaken the phone supports ad-hoc connections so root should not be required for "reverse tethering" (which IMO is not really practical anyway)....... and to find all the info regarding the phone it will be under menu/settings/about phone

sent from my JB RAZR tapadriving

Feeding my android addiction......... one phone at a time.....

jhf.png

If you are feeling generous and would like to buy me a drink.... coffee :)

#3 tucstwo

tucstwo

www.drdevs.com

• Administrator
  • 14,435 posts
  • Twitter:tucstwo