22 replies to this topic

#1 richrard

richrard

n00b

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 31 January 2012 - 05:19 PM

Messing with the build.prop seems to be risky business. Take proper precautions. I am new to the whole Android thing so I cannot tell you as of yet what they might be :blink: Although admittedly that should have been priority one, I was too impatient to get the best of everything on there that I could...

-----------

After a lot of trial and error I finally stumbled on a way to get Modern Combat 3 and other Gameloft games that normally tell you that your device is not supported to work. You just gotta use the build.prop to change how your phone is picked up by apps. This uses Droid 3 values, as it seems to have great compatibility.

1. Use the Rom Toolbox build.prop editor, or your preferred way of editing the build.prop to change these values*

ro.product.board=solana
ro.product.device=cdma_solana
ro.product.model=DROID3
ro.product.name=solana_vzw

Reboot

2. Install your game and let it download the extra data, and run at least once. It seems to only do a compatibility check on the first run.

3. Change those entries back to defaults**

ro.product.board=spyder
ro.product.device=cdma_spyder
ro.product.model=DROID RAZR
ro.product.name=spyder_vzw

Reboot

*Found this information at

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

. Credit goes to them, but it seems not all the entries listed there are needed. I didn't include ones that were already the same, and when I opened the build.prop in a text editor I saw a note of warning saying not to edit ro.build.fingerprint, and found out that it is not necessary for this. Figured it's better not to if it's not required.