#1 curts2008

curts2008

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • LocationXville, Oh
  • Current Device(s):Nexus 6 LMY47Z

Posted 02 April 2013 - 01:46 PM

Hello all! I've been researching this rooting idea now that my Maxx is past warantee. I believe I've got the info I need using razorblade but just wanted to know what all the benefits are to this other than being able to remove all the bloatware off these phones. I'm very new to this, just wanted to know if this is true and are there definite performance benefits? Thank you!

#2 cmh714

cmh714

Tech Service & Beyond

• Smod
  • 3,272 posts
  • LocationSoCal
  • Current Device(s):Nexus 6

Posted 02 April 2013 - 01:53 PM

The developers remove much of the useless bloat, add in other tweaks and apps to get you better battery and performance. Those are the main reasons to root.

Moving to Droid Razr General [XT912] Reason Non-Emergency Situation
  • Memnoch73 likes this

#3 Memnoch73

Memnoch73

~The Devil~

• Smod
  • 5,016 posts
  • Google+:memnoch73@gmail.com
  • LocationRochester, NY
  • Current Device(s):Pixel 3XL

Posted 02 April 2013 - 01:54 PM

Welcome...

There are many benefits..

-Bloatware removal
-Root specific apps
-Custom Roms (this is the big one)

Will it all of a sudden act like a quad core processor phone?? No. But with the right Custom Rom you will have more features. better performance, and better battery.

My suggestion is to keep reading up. We are here to help when/if you get in a jam...

:ph34r: ninja'd damn you Cnm714. :P
  • satman80 and cmh714 like this

Bluesig3_zpsfd248ca4.png

#4 curts2008

curts2008

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • LocationXville, Oh

Posted 02 April 2013 - 02:03 PM

Thank you both. Indeed I will keep reading. Naturally no one wants to ruin there phone so I'm extra cautious. Now the talk of Roms I have seen on these forums, but no nothing about or how to get or which ones. I'm sure that one is opinionated lol.

#5 cmh714

cmh714

Tech Service & Beyond

• Smod