Droid Oracle

• Dedicated Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,794 posts
  • Google+:kellym
  • LocationNY
  • Current Device(s):Pixel XL

Posted 18 April 2013 - 10:49 AM

I was able to root my Bionic, and keep root (via voodoo app) and safestrap, after receiving JB update OTA.  I'd like to freeze some of the bloatware and apps I don't use.  Which app is better, paid version, ROM toolbox or Titanium back-up?  Right now I have the free version of TBU.  I'm willing to pay for the app, but would like an app that's relatively easy to use.  I'm new to rooting and safestrap and don't want something so complicated, I won't use it.

I'm also interested in using a new launcher, have been reading up on Go, Nova and ADW. 

Any thoughts?

Thanks for your time.

#2 johnlgalt

johnlgalt

Antidisestablishmentarianist

• Superuser
  • 7,296 posts
  • Twitter:https://twitter.com/JohnLGalt
  • Location3rd Rock
  • Current Device(s):Pixel 4 XL 128 GB

Posted 18 April 2013 - 11:05 AM

I've been using TiBu for years, but I know people who swear by ROM Toolbox.  I have both, b/c I am so used to TiBu, and I have ROM Toolbox or other functionality that TiBu does not contain.

#3 shawner47

shawner47

n00b

• Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Twitter:@DarthShawner
  • LocationPennsylvania
  • Current Device(s):Bionic, Nook Tablet x2, Nook Color

Posted 18 April 2013 - 11:22 AM

I agree with john.  I have both ROM Toolbox and TiBu and they both work great.  TiBu is probably easier for someone who isn't in to a lot of extra features though.  

For a launcher, I have been using Nova (Prime) for a while on ICS and now on JB.  I like it very much.  I also have ADW but Nova has been so good I haven't used it in a while.  GO wasn't my cup o' tea.  Just didn't like the feel of it.

#4 johnlgalt

johnlgalt

Antidisestablishmentarianist

• Superuser
  • 7,296 posts
  • Twitter:https://twitter.com/JohnLGalt
  • Location3rd Rock
  • Current Device(s):Pixel 4 XL 128 GB

Posted 18 April 2013 - 11:25 AM