Photo

What Phone Would You Have If Vzw Carried It? Or What Other Phone Interests You?

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 got556

got556

Droid Master

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 452 posts
  • Twitter:@got556
  • LocationChicago

Posted 21 April 2012 - 12:02 AM

Okay, first of all the Razr is probably my most favorite phone to date, with that said I also had a Galaxy Note at the same time and I'm positive I would switch to that in a heart beat if VZW carried it.

Let me preface that I'm a tech junkie and have had numerous tabs and phones. I love tabs but find it cumbersome to carry two devices. The Note fills this role perfectly. At first I was put off by the 5.3" size but you get used to it. Much like the Razr is hard to hold b/c of it's blocky thinness, but again I got used to that.

I had a blue/black international Note and used Straight Talk pay as you go and had great service with it. W/ that said nothing beats VZW's 4G/LTE and my unlimited grandfathered data plans.

The s-pen is cool for a bit but I didn't find myself using it. Development and accessories are through the roof for it. Yes touchwiz sucks but man w/ custom roms and kernels the sky is the limit. Just on stock rooted touchwiz alone I was getting Quadrant scores close to 7k....Exynos chips really do hold their own.

The screen was just as good as the Razr's with a few color banding flaws here and there, but you really really had to look for them.

One thing I noticed is how slippery the phone gets which I would recommend an SGP case or a skin that covers the whole phone. Also SGP (my favorite screen protector company) has numerous options of protectors for the screen. Extended batteries exist also but w/ all the custom kernels you would have to be a seriously heavy user to not get a good solid day of use out of it (that would probably change with 4g however).

But there, I said it, I would leave the Razr for a Note.