Photo

Getting 2nd Bionic to mess around with, advice?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 rayjj

rayjj

n00b

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 22 July 2013 - 07:02 AM

So I have had a Bionic since launch, was never pleased with it until we finally got ICS.  I was excited for JB, but actually hate it, and since I cannot go back to ICS have just been dealing with it.  I bought a refurb one the other day to mess around with, and kinda hoping that it doesn't have JB on it when I get it.  If it does not have JB, I probably will learn how to root it to get ICS on it and just leave it at that.  Suggestions on the easiest way to get to that point?  Keep in mind I am a total noob with rooting, I have read up on the HOB, and still have to really learn what FXZ is, and some of the other terms.  Worst case one of my 2 Bionics will end up being something for the kids to play games with, and the other will stay as my phone until I decide what I want to upgrade to.  Any advice for someone that has never done this?  Would definitely hate to brick it right off the bat when trying to learn!  Thx!

Noob, but want to learn!

#2 Memnoch73

Memnoch73

~The Devil~

• Smod
  • 5,016 posts
  • Google+:memnoch73@gmail.com
  • LocationRochester, NY
  • Current Device(s):Pixel 3XL

Posted 22 July 2013 - 07:07 AM

Sadly if it comes with JB you will be stuck there. There is no going backwards on a bootloader locked device.  :(

Bluesig3_zpsfd248ca4.png

#3 BKiv

BKiv

Pancake annihilator

• Dedicated Supporter
  • PipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • Google+:jnbkivett@gmail.com
  • LocationHigh Point NC
  • Current Device(s):Bionic

Posted 22 July 2013 - 07:16 AM

Root it and install safe strap. I run cm10.1.2, flying jelly & blurry on mine. All are great ROMs.

#4 rayjj

rayjj

n00b

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 22 July 2013 - 07:47 AM