7 replies to this topic

#1 gvin

gvin

n00b

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 19 June 2012 - 07:10 AM

So I am new to this whole android OS. I came from Apple IOS and I could jailbreak with no problem. Now that I have a Razr Maxx and enjoy it more then I did an iPhone, I come across this new problem. 1. I have a MacBook Pro 64 Bit and have no clue how to root a Razr Maxx and reading post it seems more complicated then it was with an iPhone. 2. I would jailbreak my iPhone to get the newest IOS before it came out, but don't know where or how to get the new ICS for the maxi much less the process it take to get it rooted to install ICS. 3. When I jailbroke an iPhone I could always unjailbreak it and I am worried that if I root my Maxx and decide to unroot it and download the new ICS OS when it comes out Ill either be stuck in root, brick, or destroy my Maxx. Can anyone tell me what I am doing or point out a site that has a good run down on how to root a Maxx to ICS with a Mac with a safe unroot back to factory setting so I can [down the road] download the new ICS OS when it comes out without bricking or messing my phone up? Thanks a lot!

#2 snives

snives

Droid Master

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 947 posts

Posted 19 June 2012 - 07:38 AM

Either find a version of Motofail for Mac, or grab CASUAL for Mac and the universal Motofail package for it. If you have ADB/drivers installed, the rooting just takes a few clicks of the mouse.

#3 gvin

gvin

n00b

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 19 June 2012 - 08:04 AM

Either find a version of Motofail for Mac, or grab CASUAL for Mac and the universal Motofail package for it. If you have ADB/drivers installed, the rooting just takes a few clicks of the mouse.

I have the motofail package, but is it possible to unroot and restore back to original? I have seen a lot of post saying yes and a lot saying no.

#4 Rycix

Rycix

Bouncing Ball Of Energy / Android Rescue Squad

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts