21 replies to this topic

#1 mpd2414

mpd2414

n00b

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 01 July 2012 - 05:26 AM

Please help. I'm trying to unroot my phone for the ICS update. I used Doomlord's rooting and unrooting programs. The unroot appears to work fine but after my phone reboots superuser is still on it and my ICS install fails 1/4 of the way into it. I've been reading up on different unrooting methods but don't want to screw something up and brick my phone.

#2 leviwg

leviwg

News Writer

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 563 posts

Posted 01 July 2012 - 05:32 AM

Just fastboot to .181 and then take it. Or easier would be to install voodoo and temp. unroot and try it. That should work.
a what? an android? whats that?

#3 mpd2414

mpd2414

n00b

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 01 July 2012 - 05:53 AM

leviwg, thanks for the quick reply. I'm very new to this, is there somewhere that I can get specific instructions on fastbooting to .18?. the voodoo temp install sounds more like my speed, where could I find that? Thanks for the help.

#4 Brad92

Brad92

Droid Master

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 624 posts
  • LocationTexas

Posted 01 July 2012 - 06:07 AM

This is everything you need:

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

Also has Voodoo Root Keeper too

#5 Nickcco123

Nickcco123

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 30 posts

Posted 01 July 2012 - 06:24 AM

Had to this during soak to get the update to install

This will only work if you use bootstrap or safestrap and have NOT FDR.
1. Reroot (If not currently rooted)
2. Get root explorer in the market (or esfile explorer) if you dont have it.
3. Uninstall the bootstrap app (or safestrap)
4. Go into root explorer to system/bin
5. Make sure you enable Read and Write in settings
6. Delete the file called hijack
7. Delete logwrapper
8. Rename logwrapper.bin to just logwrapper
9. Reboot and it should be gone
10. Redownload the update and it should install without issue.
Now should be able to unroot with