17 replies to this topic

#1 blueizee

blueizee

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
  • LocationFlorida

Posted 23 July 2012 - 07:31 PM

can anyone help me here....i wanna know it all....i would love to become one of you brilliant developers...but just dont know where to start my journey....as much help and advice would be much appreciated....can someone please get me started here....THANK YOU!!!

#2 DCarrollUSMC

DCarrollUSMC

Grunt

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 85 posts
  • LocationBloomington, Illinois

Posted 23 July 2012 - 08:21 PM

Well, I'm not an android developer yet, per se, but I can give you a few pointers. First, it really depends on what you plan on developing to pick the right tools. There are a few that are essential no matter what you are trying to do, though.

First, do you have any programming experience? That will certainly help you out. These are not in any particular order. I don't have much time right now to really build a full guide, but I'm sure with some intuition you can figure it out.

Eclipse IDE (Development Environment, not necessary, but definitely a must if you plan on doing any coding.)
Download Link:

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

(Eclipse Classic 4.2 is sufficient)

7zip (This is a utility that you can use to browse the archives of an .apk without decompiling. This is a great utility, especially for themers that are just replacing .png files.)
Download Link:

Android SDK (Rather than explaining, this one I'll just give you a link:

)

Android Kitchen by Dsixda (This is a great tool for learning how to build a ROM, especially good at working off of someone else's base.
Link:

)

APKTool, APK Manager, or APK Multi-Tool (Essentially, they all do much the same thing. Good for compiling/decompiling apk's.
Download Link:

Informational Link:

HashCalc (This tool is essentially a md5 sumchecker)
Download Link: