• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 DrNoob

DrNoob

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts

Posted 25 January 2012 - 08:36 AM

Now im new to rooting and I bricked my last razr and i'm afraid to root this one with out learning more, so whats a cheap phone that is similar to the expensive razr that I can practice on? should be another motorola phone?

#2 snives

snives

Droid Master

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 947 posts

Posted 25 January 2012 - 09:40 AM

Now im new to rooting and I bricked my last razr and i'm afraid to root this one with out learning more, so whats a cheap phone that is similar to the expensive razr that I can practice on? should be another motorola phone?

Bricking/bootlooping really isn't an issue. You can use the fastboot files to restore it to stock any time you want. Matt has a guide posted somewhere around here for it. The only problem you might run into is missing a call once you are addicted to flashing.

#3 DrNoob

DrNoob

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts

Posted 25 January 2012 - 09:47 AM

when i bricked the first razr it wasnt in a boot loop it didnt show any signs of life at all i tryed everything to fix it but this way. So you are saying just root my razr and give it a shot?

#4 snives

snives

Droid Master

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 947 posts

Posted 25 January 2012 - 09:53 AM

when i bricked the first razr it wasnt in a boot loop it didnt show any signs of life at all i tryed everything to fix it but this way. So you are saying just root my razr and give it a shot?

When something like that happens, hold Power + Vol Down for 30 seconds (to guarantee it is actually off and not just black display while on), then hold Vol Up + Vol Down + Power to get into Moto's recovery. Also, never flash anything, especially not something important (full ROM, kernel updates, Fastboot, etc) without a full battery.